Three Intermezzi for string quartet

Full title Three Intermezzi for string quartet or string orchestra / Drei Intermezzi für Streichquartett oder Streichorchester
Date composed 1941
Details 1. Revelation [alternately titled New Day] 
2. Capriccio
3. Interrupted Serenade [alternately titled Interrupted Serenading]

Composition completed in December 1941.
Performance duration: to be determined.
Manuscript sources NYPL JOB 73–132, holograph score of string quartet version (4 folded folios), with composer's note on title page: New York, December 1941; the three movements are numbered but only no. 3 has a descriptive title, and each has a completion date at the end—for movement 1, Andante moderato: 9./XII. 1941; for movement 2, Moderato: 19./XII. 1941; and for movement 3, Allegro, titled Disturbed Serenade: 31./XII. 1941 / K. W. See also NYPL JPB 99–7 no.97, Composers Facsimile Edition of holograph score of string orchestra version (10 pages), with the title: Musicians Edition / String Score / Intermezzi for strings by Karl Weigl; in this score the movements are called Parts I, II, and III and titled Revelation (Andante moderato); Capriccio (Moderato); and Interrupted Serenading (Allegretto).
Publication details Whitney Blake, 1966.
Availabiity Score and parts available from KWF.

Three Intermezzi for string quartet / Drei Intermezzi für Streichquartett, no. 1
Simon Wynberg and ARC Ensemble

Performances (click icon to expand or collapse list)
26 May 1942 New York, private musicale, home of Mrs. H. A. Guinzburg: Marjorie Fulton, Louis Fischzohn, Kalman Fleisig, Sidney Edwards (string quartet version). Also on program: Ysaye, Prelude for violin solo; Bach, arias arranged for soprano and cello.
3 October 1981 New York, Carnegie Recital Hall, Mahler—Weigl Anniversary Program: string orchestra, cond. John Szicheng-Lau (orchestra version).
15 October 2006 Toronto, Glenn Gould Studio, CBC: ARC Ensemble members (Erika Raum, Felicia Moye, Carolyn Blackwell, Bryan Epperson, and Joel Quarrington, double bass).